Downloads
    Uploads
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Lenovo Y570 + e-gpu help a noob out

Hey everyone.

My name is Nick. This is my first post so this is my introduction also.

I have a Lenovo Y570 and tinkering with the idea of e-gpu. My knowledge of PC's extends to building numerous high end gaming desktop machines, modding mobile devices. I also do a bit of programming every now and then. However ive never extensivly modded a laptop before. So you will have to excuse my lack of knowledge in the laptop area and why i seek help.

My laptop specs are:
    Lenovo Y570
    i7 2800QM 3.2ghz
    8gb Ram
    GT555M 2gb w/ Optimus Intel HD3000.

Its average for gaming, esp at 1920x1080 on a 24" monitor i have, so i want more graphical beef. My idea was to run a GTX660 or GTX660TI. I understand bottlenecking can be an issue, but i assume with this cpu and as the card isnt that high end it shouldnt receive any issues. However like i said i am a noob in the laptop world so i could be wrong. I have opened my laptop completely to re-do the heatsink with some better thermal paste, i also put a seagate momentus XT 750gb/8gbssd in for a performance boost. So ive seen inside the laptop before. Im almost certain this didnt come with the bluetooth, and the wifi card is in the m-pcie slot (but this is what im unsure of)
    I understand i'll need PSU, video card and the PE4L/H to be able to run an e-gpu. I have no expresscard slot, so m-pcie is the way, im just unsure if that's what i have.

The information im after is about setting it all up. Because my knowledge is very limited i am unsure where to start. I have done quite a bit of reading in here, google searches but i still have some unanswered questions.
    I am assuming as lower spec lenovo's like the y46x can run e-gpu that mine should be able too, but this im unsure of, so guidance would be appriciated. Which device specifically should i get. What software will i need?