AKiTiO Thunder2 for eGPU setup on ASUS G501JW via thunderbolt port

Hi guys,

I am new to this forum, so forgive me if I posted this thread in the wrong place.

I am a PhD Student in New Zealand.

I want to build an eGPU setup to enable my Laptop to have stereo 3D via the external card. I will be testing it with quite a few cards GTX470, GTX570, GTX770(my current desktop driver) and a Quadro K5000 (which I need for my research). I wish to get the eGPU setup for my Stereo 3D research.

I am planning on buying the AKiTiO Thunder2 PCIe box and use my laptop's thunderbolt port to connect the eGPU. I will primarily be using the setup for research but also sometimes for gaming.

What else other than a PSU and AKiTiO Thunder2 do I need to setup my eGPU? I live in New Zealand, can I ask AKiTiO to ship one here and still avail the 189$ discounted price our group gets?

If I am successful I will definitely make a tutorial for the ASUS g501JW eGPU setup.

Thanks a lot.

Yes I looked at that thread. Its very close to what I want to achieve.

My ultimate aim for this setup is to run my application that uses Quad Buffer stereo (windowed) which requires a Quadro card. Use eGPU to connect a quadro and a stereo 3D display to the quadro and run the application from the laptop. If this works it would be great. I have sent an email to AKiTiO for the discount price and shipping quote. fingers crossed i get the discount.

Cant wait to try the eGPU. it seems like the perfect companion to an ultra slim laptop.

Hey Silver,

Not sure if this has been answered in another thread but can't seem to find it. Does your Asus rog g501 have a thunderbolt 2 or thunderbolt 1 port? I'm seriously considering this as a desktop replacement atm and have just completed a 13" Macbook Pro 2011 eGPU build.

Thanks

Hey Silver,